Home   Contact Us  Online Payments  

Call Before You Dig
or 811

For Our Customers

Request Services

Customer Services
Management & Staff



About Us
Services & Fees


Natural Gas

About Us
Services & Fees


About Us
Service and Fees
Reports & Plans



 City of Elberton

The City of Elberton has operated electric power facilities since 1895.  The Electric Division of Elberton Utilities serves the City of Elberton and its enacted service territory of Elbert County by providing electric power to residences, businesses, and industry.  The Electric Division maintains over 156 miles of distribution power lines and three substations to serve 4,600 individual service locations. 

Power is purchased wholesale through the Municipal Electric Authority of Georgia (MEAG Power), and is transmitted through Georgia's unique Integrated Transmission System. MEAG Power was created by the 1975 Georgia General Assembly to provide a low-cost, dependable source of electric energy to its participant communities, including Elberton, who own their own electric utility systems.  The diversity of power generating sources gives MEAG Power member communities a competitive advantage to other electricity providers in the United States.  MEAG Power co-owns four power plants with three other suppliers in the state. We have partial ownership of nine generating units at four Georgia sites including Plant Hatch, Scherer, Vogtle and Wansley.  MEAG Power is the sole owner of the natural gas-fired plant at Wansley.


Nuclear Powered Plants Coal Plants

Plant Vogtle
23% of ownership in Units 1 and 2
Waynesboro, GA
522 megawatts
Plant Wansley
15% ownership in Units 1 and 2
Lowell, GA
261 megawatts
8 megawatts, combustion turbine

Plant Hatch
18% of ownership in Units 1 and 2
Baxley, GA
286 megawatts
Plant Scherer
30% ownership in Units 1 and 2
Juliette, GA
489 megawatts

Natural Gas Plant


Plant Wansley
100% ownership
Lowell, GA
503 megawatts



2004, Elberton Utilities


Webmaster | Information